Meet Keralas new Higher Education Minister Dr R Bindu a former English prof and one of the most educated MLAs in the state 1

Kerala: V Shivankutty to be new education minister, KN Balagopal to helm finance department

Ernakulam: As part of the CPM state secretariat decision to induct fresh faces into the new cabinet that will be sworn-in on May 20th, KN Balagopal will be the new finance minister, V Shivankutty is the new education minister and Veena George the new health minister of the state.

The CPM state secretariat meeting held on Wednesday finalized the portfolio for the new ministers. The LDF meeting has directed Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan to finalize the portfolio for each minister.

JD(S) MLA K Krishnankutty will replace MM Mani as minister for electricity. Senior leader K Radhakrishnan will swear in as minister for devaswom.

Pinarayi Vijayan’s son-in-law PA Mohammed Riyaz will be holding the portfolios of the Tourism and Public Works Department (PWD).

Except for Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan from CPM, AK Saseendran from NCP, and K Krishnankutty from Janata Dal(S), all other ministers are fresh faces. K Radhakrishnan, who was elected from the Chelakkara constituency, was SC/ST Welfare Minister in the EK Nayanar cabinet in 1996.

The most heart-breaking, without doubt, was the decision to leave out KK Shailaja who, as health minister, had fearlessly led the Covid and Nipah fights from the front and won hearts at the international level not just for her approach but also attitude.

However, following detailed deliberations and discussions within the party secretariat it was decided that dropping of health minister was a ‘political and organizational’ decision of the party and there will not be a re-look into the matter.

The swearing-in ceremony will take place on May 20th at the central stadium in Thiruvananthapuram with 500 people in attendance.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *