More National Merit Scholarship Winners

More National Merit Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to the recent graduates who received scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities.

Albuquerque Public Schools is proud to announce five more College-Sponsored Merit Scholarship winners:

  • Sean R. Love, La Cueva High School
  • Tiffany Y. Pei, La Cueva High School
  • Richard W. Ross, Early College Academy
  • Harley V. Sigmon, La Cueva High School
  • Alexander D.R. Yanov, Sandia High Schools

These students join 10 other APS winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities:

  • Sofia E. Atencio, La Cueva High School
  • Kaeli M. Benavidez, Early College Academy
  • Grace E. Chapman, Volcano Vista High School
  • Taylor M. Fleming, Eldorado High School
  • Joel Gates, La Cueva High School
  • Bronwen F. Link, Del Norte High School
  • Trevor L. Owens, La Cueva High School
  • Sean M. Pankretz, Volcano Vista High School
  • Isaiah J. Soicher, La Cueva High School
  • Timothy Wang, La Cueva High School

The recent graduates are among 4,100 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

This year, 160 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 85 private and 75 public institutions located in 42 states and the District of Columbia.

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners are a part of the distinguished group of about 7,500 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth over $30 million. Earlier this spring, NMSC announced winners of National Merit $2,500 Scholarships. Those included five 2021 graduates of APS:

  • Casey T. Pei, La Cueva High School
  • Agustin J. Leon-Saenz, Albuquerque High School
  • Delaney F. Pendleton, Eldorado High School
  • Ryan D. Sanchez, La Cueva High School
  • Luke Xue, La Cueva High School

Courtesy – APS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *